Dial-up GPRS from MacBook OS X Tiger using Sony Ericsson M600i

I’m using Sony Ericsson M600i and Apple MacBook (Intel) running Mac OS X Tiger 10.4.8. I’ve got problem when I want to dial GPRS using bluetooth or cable from the Mac. Tried to pair the bluetooth connection was not successful since the Mac didn’t recognize the phone.

Later here is my order of solution.
1. Update Mac OS X to version 10.4.9
2. After the update, I see that the phone can be found by iSync (but still not supported for synchronize)
3. Do pairing again using bluetooth (Set Up Bluetooth Device.. and follow the procedure, until you find the choose Username to dial)
4. Enter the username and password for dial-up, then select for Modem Script “Ericsson T39 28.8”
5. Try to dial for Internet Connection.

That should be working. But some sites were not able to open, I don’t know whether because of the ISP or the modem script. But at least I’ve made progress because I couldn’t dial at all before.

Finally I can get my phone works as bluetooth modem.

  1. Download modem script from http://www.taniwha.org.uk, I downloaded Sony Ericsson 3G Script
  2. Drop the modem scripts into Library/Modem Scripts
  3. Set up PPP:
    1. Open Network Preferences
    2. Optional: Create a new location – call it “Mobile” or whatever
    3. Select “Show: ‘Bluetooth Modem Port’
    4. Select the PPP tab and enter your network name in “Service Provider”.
    5. Enter in “Telephone Number” the APN for your network (my case: satelindogprs.com)
    6. Enter the Account name & Password (if required)
  4. Setup Modem
    1. Select the Bluetooth Modem tab in Network Preferences
    2. Set ‘Modem: “Sony Ericsson 3G “‘
  5. Connect
    1. Open Internet Connect
    2. Select Bluetooth Modem Port
    3. Click “Connect”

  1. ondjaki

    please, how to connect to a dial up conection, using k750i?
    it always says “no carrier detected”.

    thanks.

  2. Try using Modem Script T39 14.4 if the program still persists.

    You can also try to find a suitable modem script in this page http://www.taniwha.org.uk/

    Let me know if succeed/fail

  3. Peter

    Hi For some reason its not working for me….
    i have the modem script, still wont connect.
    Im on tmobile USA
    any tips?
    Thanks

  4. Anders

    Howto configure the m600i ?? I cant get it to work.

  5. Please be more specific about issue you found. Was it because “no modem detected” , “no carrier detected” or the connection couldn’t be established (after connection status always disconnected).

    I’m planning to create a more comprehensive documenation in near future in this blog. I’ll notify you later.

  6. Iain

    Hi,

    I’m very interested in geting this to work. I followed the instructions but got two errors:

    1. Internet Connect

    Could not open the communication device.

    Followed by:

    2. A Bluetooth serial failure has occurred

    Failed to open an RFCOMM serial channel.
    Check if authentication needs to be enabled in your device.

    Any ideas what is going wrong? Any help would be gratefully received.

  7. First you have to make sure that pairing has been done.
    1. Do pairing using bluetooth (Set Up Bluetooth Device.. and follow the procedure, until you find the choose Username to dial)
    2. Enter the username and password for dial-up, then select for Modem Script “Ericsson T39 28.8″ (just for dummy)

    then follow step I mentioned above (from Setup PPP)
    let me know if it works or not.

  8. Hi,

    I’m glad to know that someone manage to make it work with M600i. I’m using P1i and apparently no one knows how to make it work yet. I’ve tried the setup I use for N70 (this was successful previously) and followed Ross’s website – Taniwha.

    Probably I need to update my Macbook Pro to the new version. Can’t remember what version it is on now.
    Hopefully that’s the reason!

    Great input! Wish I found this earlier🙂

  9. Opi

    The script really works on my macbook, thank you very much !

  10. Maurits

    My mobile phone (SE P1i) seems to connect with GPRS/UMTS (I see the world icon). I’m sure i have APN, login and password correct, but i get: “Could not negotiate a connection with the remote PPP server. Please verify your settings and try again.”

    :S

  11. @Maurits:
    In Internet Connect program, you can see the connection log by choosing Window Menu – Connection log. After opening the log, try to dial again and see what the log writes. Several things can cause this: choose different modem script (CID), GPRS service not activated by operator, or you have to try several times.

  12. skyye

    This is driving me nuts! I can connect my macbook just fine to the internet with my Razr V3i as modem but I cannot surf – Internet Connect shows lots of sending but no receiving and then eventually the page times out.
    I have unchecked the TCP Header compression etc as suggested in other sites but no dice. Anyone else have this problem? Anyone know of a fix?

    Skyye

  13. @skkye: try move to another location (so you can be sure that it is not related to GPRS Signal (something BTS antenna has problem). Second guess is to install different modem script. See tanihwa for trial-and-error script.

  14. Luis

    Hi, I have a N70 and a macbook running OS X 10.4.11. When I try to conect to the phone I got:

    Failed to open an RFCOMM serial channel.
    Check if authentication needs to be enabled in your device.

    But I’ve already done everything I could think to delete the connections, re-open them and re-pair them. Also I set the macbook as authorised in the N70, but I can’t make it work.. Any ideas?

  15. Mat the cat

    Perfect. It works perfect now with my sony ericcson P1i. Thanks a million for this great help. and great thansk to the Kiwi. Thank bro. Kiaro!

  16. Noel

    Hi All,

    My MacOS is Leopard, when I try to connect my P1i through USB to my mac book, i see that in the console that it has message “AppleUSBCDCACMData: start – Find CDC driver failed”. but in the /dv, i can see the device but it seems that when i go to netork and tried to dail through the P1i, it said the modem is not responding, may I know if anyone can help?

  17. @noel: I think you’d better try using Bluetooth for dialing Internet. I haven’t tried using cable but I think It won’t work. Just setup bluetooth device to your P1, then select the SonyEricsson GPRS/3G modem from the Modem List (in System Preference – Network – Bluetooth – Advanced)

  18. plato

    site http://www.taniwha.org.uk don’t work… can somebody reupload this srcipt to rapidshare, etc?

  19. hkx

    Is there another place to download the 3G scrips the http://www.taniwha.org.uk site isnt working
    please help!

  20. hkx

    http://www.taniwha.org.uk site wont work is there anyother place to download the 3G scripts? Please help!!

  21. Pas mal, vraiement pas mal du tous ce blog américain ou anglais de dial x !

  1. 1 Setting SonyEricsson M600i as USB Drive in Mac OS X « Alisanta - Technology and Lifestyle Blog

    […] from Apple nor SonyEricsson. One thing is to have the phone as GPRS/3G modem dial-up, this was solved several weeks ago. Now this USB mount drive has been solved. Hope in the next release (Leopard) iSync can detect my […]

  2. 2 Setting SonyEricsson M600i as USB Drive in Mac OS X

    […] from Apple nor SonyEricsson. One thing is to have the phone as GPRS/3G modem dial-up, this was solved several weeks ago. Now this USB mount drive has been solved. Hope in the next release (Leopard) iSync can detect my […]

  3. 3 Dial up GPRS from MacBook OS X Tiger using Sony Ericsson M600i | internet marketing tools

    […] Dial up GPRS from MacBook OS X Tiger using Sony Ericsson M600i Posted by root 3 days ago (https://alisanta.wordpress.com) Try to dial for internet connection that should be working but some sites were not able to open there was an error with your comment please try again name required subscribe to rss headline updates from powered by feedburner blog at wordpress com theme 28 Discuss  |  Bury |  News | Dial up GPRS from MacBook OS X Tiger using Sony Ericsson M600i […]

  4. 4 Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 (7-Inch, Wi-Fi) Exceptional 7-inch multitouch screen designed for reading books and magazines, watching movies, playing games, and more .....

    […] Source: https://alisanta.wordpress.com/2007/03/28/dial-up-gprs-from-macbook-os-x-tiger-using-sony-ericsson-m6… […]




Leave a Reply

